Deleting your account from Facebook was a long and arduous process, but it won’t be anymore. If you want to end social media, we’ll show you how to easily delete your account once and for all. To learn more about this topic, see our detailed guide below.
Permanent account deletion – how to do it
Basically, the whole operation boils down to a few clicks. We start at this address: https://www.facebook.com/help/delete_account. Facebook will display a brief information about the consequences of deleting your account. Of course, you are determined to delete, so with the Delete my account button you will continue. You will be asked to enter your Facebook account password and to prove that you are not a bot. After completing both fields, click OK.
If everything went as planned, a message will appear on your computer screen saying that the account will be deactivated for 30 and after that time it will be permanently deleted. This is Facebook’s last attempt to stop us. Instead of deleting our account immediately, the portal deactivates it for a month by default. If during this time we come to the conclusion that it is cool to look at the wall from time to time, or to speak to further friends, just log in, thereby stopping the process of deleting our account.
If you decide to permanently delete your Facebook account:
- You will not be able to reactivate your account.
- All content added / uploaded to Facebook will disappear forever, without the possibility of its recovery (unless the data archive has been previously downloaded).
- Applications using your Facebook account will no longer be available via the Facebook login procedure.
- Specific information, such as messages sent to friends, will not be completely deleted and will remain visible to them.
- You will not be able to use Messenger.
How to delete your information from Facebook yourself
You’ve decided to really remove all traces of Facebook activity. If you have decided to permanently delete your account, Facebook will do it for you – you do not have to get involved in this process.
However, if you feel like participating, you can speed up the activity by manually deleting parts of Facebook content. This can significantly reduce the 90-day removal process. It can also help organize your search history and connected applications, even if you are not planning to unsubscribe from Facebook in the near future.
Have you ever deleted history from your web browser? This is almost the same procedure for Facebook – only it is much slower and more time-consuming.
It all starts with an activity log. There are two ways to access it:
- On the settings page, click Your Facebook information> Activity log
- You can also click the “Activity log” button on your Facebook profile (in the bottom right corner of the cover photo next to “Update information”).
Your activity log is part of the “Filters” panel that allows you to view and delete posts and comments, delete likes (by disliking), and delete search history. You can do even more, from deleting group entries to managing content that the included apps have published on your behalf.